Elisabeth Hasselbeck Didn’t Like Bill Maher’s View

Bill Maher is a left-wing comic who tells it like it is. When Maher made a joke about CBS News Chief Foreign Affairs correspondent Lara Logan back in February that included Elisabeth Hasselbeck she wasn’t amused.

Maher came on The View yesterday to promote his new book The New New Rules but things quickly went left when Hasselbeck asked him about what he said. The joke was ‘New rule: now that Hosni Mubarak has released Lara Logan, he must put her intrepid hotness on a plane immediately. ‘In exchange, we will send Elisabeth Hasselbeck.’

Logan later revealed she had been sexually assaulted by a baying mob while reporting in the Middle Eastern country, saying she had ‘raped me with their hands.’

After reiterating what had happened to the 60 Minutes journalist, Hasselback, 34, told the comic: ‘You can’t sit here and tell me right now and tell me I’m wrong for saying that wasn’t that funny.’ Maher stated: ‘Well, you know we do a comedy show for an audience that is perhaps different than your audience. ‘And you know, you are a public figure. It was not aimed at you personally, but when you are a public figure you’re out there and you’re fodder for comedians to make comments on you.’ She then asked him if he ever draws the line, and he said he did. Maher added: ‘I do draw the line, but I also live on the line.

Although the other ladies were there to ask questions, one would’ve thought this was a one on one interview. Hasslbeck continued to make snide remarks throughout the whole segment.

When Barbara Walters stepped in Maher quipped: ‘It was so great to be here on The View and to talk to all of you, or one of you. ‘Hasselbeck cracked back: ‘Well you could talk about me or talk to me. I think accountability is sometimes important in life. That’s what I teach my kids.’ As the interview continued he poked fun at blundering Republican candidates Herman Cain and Rick Perry, and questioned the intellect of party members as a whole. He said: ‘The Republican party doesn’t care about knowledge or knowing things.’ Hasselbeck was fuming again, telling him: ‘Really? Because you’re so brilliant. Wow, I actually feel smarter sitting next to you.” A clearly irritated Maher shot back: ‘Really? ”cause I feel like I’m in high school sitting next to you.’

Although Hasselbeck said she wasn’t upset/bothered by the comments but rather standing up for women, you could clearly tell otherwise. She is a very defensive, rigid person that needs not to take herself so seriously. I can’t with this woman sometimes, I’m shocked that Barbara let that whole segment go to waste because Elisabeth was acting like a child. I wonder what she’ll have to say today…let’s hope she starts off with I’m sorry!

Posted on November 16, 2011, in TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Looking forward to reading more. Great post. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

